Sharing Server Access via VPC




Overview

When you create a VPC, you are made the owner of that VPC. This gives you full control of the VPC.

The CloudAfrica platform allows you to share access to a VPC and in turn, to any server linked to that VPC.

You can allow other people the view/access the server details (Member Role), or you may allow them to manage the entire VPC, access to that VPC, and servers linked to that VPC. (Admin Role)


The two available role levels for VPC members are:

  1. Admin - can add and delete servers, edit and potentially even delete the VPC.
  2. Member - can start and stop servers inside the VPC, but not remove, edit or add any services.

Granting Access

First ensure that the Server exists, and is linked to the VPC you are intending to share.

Steps to add a new member to your VPC:

  1. Login to our CloudAfrica website at https://app.cloudafrica.net/#/
  2. Click on VPC in the left navigation bar
  3. Select your VPC from the available list
  4. Click “+ Share With” on the right-hand side
  5. Type in the email address of the person with whom you want to share access.
    1. (warning) This email address must already belong to a registered member on the CloudAfrica website.
    2. (warning) The user will have to register first if they do not yet have a CloudAfrica account.
  6. Assign the Role as Admin or Member
  7. Click "Add" to finalise sharing.
  8. Once completed the new VPC member will be able to log into their account as normal and access (or control - depending on their member roles) all the servers linked to the same VPC.


Removing Access

Steps to remove a member from a VPC:

  1. Login to our CloudAfrica website at https://app.cloudafrica.net/#/
  2. Click on VPC in the side navigation bar
  3. Select your VPC from the available list
  4. On the right of the member click the trash can icon
  5. Confirm that you want to delete this member from the VPC by selecting

Access Levels granted within the website when Sharing a VPC to members.

  • In all instances, it is assumed that the server has been shared with a registered user before the permission takes effect
  • This table does NOT refer to console-level access.
PermissionDescription

Owner

Admin

Member
Share Private server from VPC ViewThis user can also share it with other registered usersXX-
Delete self from VPC

No user can delete their own access

  • By deleting the VPC itself, access will be revoked by default
  • See DELETE VPC
---
Delete admin users from VPC (not self)

User can delete other Admin users from the VPC. 

XX


-
Delete Member user from VPC (not self)User can delete other Member users from the VPC. XX-
Share to admin user in VPC

User can share Admin privileges for the VPC with other registered users.

This will grant Admin access to any Servers linked to the same VPC. 

XX-
Share to member user in VPC

User can share Member privileges for the VPC with other registered users.

This will grant the Member access to any Servers linked to the same VPC. 

XX-
Delete VPC linked to Group Account (Credit card)

User can delete the entire VPC.

This removes all shared permissions set up previously.

All registered Admin and Member VPC users will lose access to servers linked to the VPC being deleted!

XX-
Edit VPC linked to Group AccountUser can Edit the details related to the VPC, such as the name and description.XX-
Create Server linked to Shared VPC

Once access has been granted to a VPC, these users can create servers linked to that same VPC.

The Account that pays for the VPC will be used by default to pay for the newly created Servers. 

XX-
Delete Server linked to Shared VPC

Once access has been granted to a VPC, these users can delete servers linked to that same VPC.

XX-
Create Firewall Rule on Shared ServerCreate firewall rules - even though a VPC is typically linked to a Privately accessible Server, adding Firewall rules will also make it publicly accessible.XX-
Edit Firewall Rule on Shared ServerEdit all firewall rulesXX-
Delete Firewall Rule on Shared ServerDelete firewall rules - Deleting the rules will not remove the public IP AddressXX-
Reboot Shared ServerReboot the shared serverXXX
Shutdown Shared ServerStop the shared serverXXX
Start Shared ServerStart / Restart the shared serverXXX

Use Console to access server

Users can see the Console window, and perform various activities on the server via the console windowXXX
Rename ServerRenaming the server will automatically reboot the serverXX-
Edit billing details linked to Shared VPC

Only the owner can view and edit the bank details associated with the payment of the VPC.

These bank details will be used to pay for the networking costs associated with the VPC,

These bank details will also automatically be used for any servers created, and which are linked to the same VPC.

X--
View Server on the dashboard - on the Servers page

Depending on the role, each user will see the servers shared with them on the Server dashboard.

The individual's role/access level will be visible when hovering over the "Share" icon 

XXX