Creating a Backup and Restore Plan

Problem

I need to create a Backup Plan for my Server, to be used in case I ever need to restore it, but I am not sure how to do this.

Solution

Step 1: Enable the Backups service first

  1. Log into the website: https://app.cloudafrica.net/
  2. Select the server that needs a Backup Plan
  3. Select the "Backups" Tab. 
    1. If this is the first ever backup plan created for this server, you will need to select "Enable" first. 
    2. Take note of the costs, and then select "Enable-backups".

(info) Your backups will be charged at R0,50 per GB for 1/3 of the machine disk space per month, per the number of backups kept (calculated on an hourly basis).


Option 1: Creating a Schedule

  1. Choose the option "Backup Schedule" displayed
  2. Select the link "Create one now"
  3. Select the radio button: "Create New Schedule"
  4. Add a Description to identify the Schedule easily later on
  5. Select the Schedule Interval (Daily, Weekly, Monthly)
  6. Set the time at which the Backup should run
    1. The site uses UCT time, so always keep this in mind - read more about UCT here.
  7. choose how many backups should be saved before they are overwritten
  8. Remove the days on which you do not want the schedule to run (If any)
  9. Select "Add new schedule line", 
  10. You may add multiple Schedule Lines in this schedule by repeating steps 4 - 9.
  11. Lastly, select "Create schedule".


Option 2: Editing a Schedule

  1. Simply locate the Server with the Backup Schedule, and then click on the "Backups" Tab.
  2. Click on the "Backup schedule" Button.
  3. Locate the Schedule that you want to edit and select the Blue icon located to the right of the Schedule Description.
  4. Unfortunately you cannot edit individual Schedule Lines, you will have to delete them, and recreate them if they need to be changed. 
  5. Edit the fields that need to be changed.
    1. If you select "Add new Schedule Line" now, a second Schedule will be created, and the original one will not be edited. 
      1. You will now end up with 2 separate backup schedules on this one server!
    2. However, if you go straight to "Update schedule" the original schedule will be updated with the changes you have just made.


Option 3: Deleting the entire Schedule

(info) This does not disable the Backups Service. All Backups made because of this schedule will remain available for use as long as the Backup service is enabled. Space used by your backups will be charged at R0,50 per GB per month of space used (calculated on an hourly basis).

  1. Simply locate the Server with the Backup Schedule, and then click on the "Backups" Tab.
  2. Click on the "Backup schedule" Button.
  3. Locate the Schedule that you want to delete and select the Red Trash can icon located to the right of the Schedule Description.
  4. Select the Checkbox to confirm that you want to delete all the Schedule Lines associated to this schedule.
  5. Lastly click on "Remove from Schedule".


Option 4: Deleting a single schedule Line

(info) This does not disable the Backups Service. All Backups made because of this schedule will remain available for use as long as the Backup service is enabled. Space used by your backups will be charged at R0,50 per GB per month of space used (calculated on an hourly basis).

  1. Simply locate the Server with the Backup Schedule, and then click on the "Backups" Tab.
  2. Click on the "Backup schedule" Button.
  3. Locate the Schedule that you want to delete and select the Blue edit icon located to the right of the Schedule Description.
  4. The Schedule will open up, and the individual Schedule Lines will appear at the bottom of the screen.
  5. Next to each Schedule line is a red Trash can Icon, which you can select if you need to delete that specific line.
  6. You must have at least one schedule Line active per schedule, which means you cannot delete all of them here. 
  7. Refer to Option 3 if you would like to cancel the entire Schedule. 


Option 5: Creating a manual once off Backup

(info) Space used by your backups will be charged at R0,50 per GB per month of space used (calculated on an hourly basis).

  1. Simply locate the Server with the Backup Schedule, and then click on the "Backups" Tab.
  2. Click on the blue "+Create" button.
  3. Take note of the message on screen,
  4. Add a Description to this backup - it is automatically populated with the date and time stamp.
  5. Click on "Create backup".
  6. You should see a message stating that the backup is processing, and on screen that the backup is being created.
  7. The total space used by the backups linked to this server will be updated and visible at the top of the screen, on the Backups Tab.


Option 6: Restoring from a Backup 

  1. Simply locate the Server with the Backup Schedule, and then click on the "Backups" Tab.
  2. From the list of backups created, select the one which you would like to use as the Restore point.
  3. Click on the relevant black Restore Arrow Icon.
  4. Take note of the info on the screen,
  5. Enter the OTP sent to your mobile phone
  6. Click on "Restore"
  7. You will be notified via email when the restore is completed (The time the restore needs to complete is dependent on the disk size of the machine in question)


Option 7: Delete a Backup

(info) This does not disable the Backups Service. All Backups made because of this schedule will remain available for use as long as the Backup service is enabled. Space used by your backups will be charged at R0,50 per GB per month of space used (calculated on an hourly basis).

  1. Simply locate the Server with the Backup Schedule, and then click on the "Backups" Tab.
  2. From the list of backups created, select the one which you would like to delete.
  3. Click on the relevant Red Track Bin Icon.
  4. Take note of the info on the screen,
  5. Enter the OTP sent to your mobile phone
  6. Click on "Delete backup"


Option 8: Disable Backups Service

(info) This is the only way to cancel the Backup service and stop billing for backup space used.

  1. Disabling this service will delete any backups still linked to the server. They will not be recoverable.
  2. To ensure that you do not disable the service by accident, we allow this only via a two-step process.
  3. You will first have to enter an OTP sent to your mobile phone, and then select "Disable Backups".