Setting Up a Backup Plan

Problem

This page should help with all the questions you may have while setting up a backup plan.

Solution

 How do I set up a Backup plan?

For more detailed information, refer to our Installer Guide 

Here. (Look under Resources)

 When should I set up a Backup plan?

You can create a Backup plan at any time. 

Using a Schedule will ensure that you never have to worry about this process again, as long as your account is active.

 Hybrid Backup Plans

Once you reach the "Create Backup Plan wizard" step, you will have a choice to choose between creating a Local or Hybrid Backup plan.

"Local" refers to our CloudSafe Servers, and not your local machine, and "Hybrid" is as the name suggests, a mix of the 2 options. 

Essentially, all the files selected in the Backup plan will first be combined into a single folder on your local system, after which it will be copied over to CloudSafe Storage.

Creating the Backup Plan

  • Make sure that you have enough space on your local system to store them locally before you select this option!

  • Once you have chosen the "Hybrid Backup" option, select "Next"

  • Now click on the link: "Add new Storage account", and select "Next"

  • The "Display name" is Free text, which you can use to easily remember the purpose and/or location of this backup.
  • The "Path" field is going to be the location on your system where the Backup will first be consolidated before it is synced up to the Cloud Server.
  • Once completed, click on "OK". 
  • Now just complete the wizard process as before, and you will be all set!

This creates a temporary folder with a copy of all the backed up files (in .dll) format in the location you specified. 

This folder will remain available in that location until the Backup plan is deleted, but don't worry - that does not remove the files from the CloudSafe Cloud Server!

If you need to restore these files at a later stage, you can simply refer to the Restore Process, and then select the Storage Account you created above to restore all those files back to their original location.

Edit / Delete a Local Storage Account

  • This refers to the Storage Account created when a Hybrid Backup Plan has been created and does not refer to your CloudSafe Account!
  1. Open the CloudSafe Application on your local machine
  2. Click on the Welcome Tab
  3. In the bottom Right section: Storage Accounts - select the little pencil (Edit icon)
  4. All Storage Accounts will appear next, from which you can select the one/s to be deleted.
    1. The main Cloud-Based Storage account cannot be deleted: CloudSafe-CloudAfrica-S3
  5. Click on the hamburger icon on the selected Account () and then choose either "Edit" or "Delete".
    1. Edit will basically allow a rename and/or change the location of the local backup repository.
    2. Delete will Remove the Local Storage Account from the CloudSafe Application.
      1. The Local Folder created and local backups created in it will not be deleted.
      2. The backup plan created originally, that made use of this Local Storage account will now be disabled. If you try to run it now, it will display the message: "Account for starting plan is not defined"
 What is the difference between Run Once, and a Scheduled Plan?

Run Once:

  • If you select "Run Once", the plan is not saved and will not run again until you repeat the process.
  • While the Backup plan you create now will run, you will have to repeat the steps later on when you want to run it again.
  • If you opt to do it this way, the Backup Will run immediately, but you will not be able to see any info about it from the Backup Tab.  You will have to navigate to the History tab to view more information.


Scheduled Backup Plan:

  • A Scheduled Backup plan is saved in the app. 
  • This is a quick way of being certain that your backup settings are saved, and always stays the same.
  • How to create a Schedule?
    • Simply create a Backup as you would normally do 
      • Select the Backup Plan Tab, 
      • Select Files - Click on Next until you reach a Step called "Schedule"
      • Then select the 3rd option - "Recurring".
      • In the next step, set up a schedule to define a regular interval on which your backup will run.
      • On the Simpler Recurring Schedule Step, select the template "Incremental backup every day" from the drop-down list. After the schedule has been set up, simply complete the Wizard process to the end.
      • From now on, your backups will happen automatically at the scheduled times (if your pc is switched on of course), so you don't have to worry about doing it again and again.
 Why are some options unavailable?

Some of the features, such as "Image-Based Backup" and "System State Restores" are not included in the File-Based Backup Service, for which you have signed up.

They are disabled in the app to prevent accidental selection. 

For more information about the Restore process, view this related article: Setting Up a Restore Plan


Related issues CSSD-164 - Getting issue details... STATUS

Proudly brought to you by CloudAfrica (Pty) Ltd