I cannot create a new Restore plan.

Problem

You may be experiencing one of the following problems:

  1. While logged into the Cloudsafe File Backup Application, you see no option to create a new Restore Plan, OR
  2. The steps in the Restore Plan Wizard stops at the point where you should select the Type of Data, and all options are disabled. 

Solution

 Solution to Problem 1:

While logged into the Cloudsafe File Backup Application, you see no option to create a new Restore Plan:

  1. This normally happens when a restore plan already exists.
    1. While multiple Backup plans can exist, and you can still manually restore files at any time, only one scheduled Restore plan is allowed at any given stage. 
  2. Click on the "Restore Plans" Tab, where you will likely see the existing plan listed.
  3. The only way to create a different Restore Plan is to delete the existing one.
    1. On the far right side, select the 2 Arrows pointing downwards to expand the plan details.
    2. Locate and select the Trash Bin to delete the Restore Plan. 
    3. Select "Yes" when prompted to confirm. 
      1. NOTE: THIS TILL DELETE THE SCHEDULED RESTORE PLAN ONLY, IT WILL NOT DELETE ANY BACKED UP FILES!
  4. The Wizard will now allow you to create a new Restore Plan, just as you did before.
  5. More on Creating a Restore plan available HERE
 Solution to Problem 2:

The steps in the Restore Plan Wizard stops at the point where you should select the Type of Data, and all options are disabled.

  1. This problem normally only occurs on Windows installations.
    1. If you have installed a Linux or macOS Application, please contact us.
  2. Windows Users, do not despair!  The problem is relatively simple to fix.


When you open your Cloudsafe Application, you most likely see this image, note the highlighted Header bar...

And furthermore, the NEXT button is likely disabled too!

Here is what you should do to fix the problem:

  1. In the Top Left-hand corner, click on the little drop-down arrow, to Open your App Options.
  2. Select the First option: Cloudsafe Account
  3. Find the Product Edition, which likely displays: "Desktop/Server - Click on the Drop Down arrow to change it.
  4. The first option that appears is FILE BACKUP.  Select that option.
  5. Now click on OK.
  6. The Wizard will now allow you to create a new Restore Plan, just as you did before.
  7. More on Creating a Restore plan available HERE


Related issues

Proudly brought to you by CloudAfrica (Pty) Ltd